Makin me some SAMIOS!

Standard

I have this addiction to Oreos. There is just something about them that makes my mouth water and my heart fill with nostalgia of my childhood. I recently got the idea to make my own oreos (but because Oreo is a name of a brand and not the type of cookie, I am calling them Samios =D)

Ingredients:
(For cookie dough)

-1 1/2 cup cocoa powder
-1 1/2 cup flour (plus more for dusting)
-pinch of salt
-1 cup Crisco butter flavored shortening
-2 cups sugar
-2 large eggs
-1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Ingredients:
(For filling)

-1/2 cup butter/margarine
-1/2 cup vegetable shortening
-3 cups (approx) sifted powered sugar
-1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

 

Sift the cocoa powder, flour and salt into a bowl.

Use a mixer to cream together the shortening and sugar. Add the eggs one at a time. Follow with the vanilla. Add the dry ingredients and mix just until combined. I find using my hand to kind of knead it in the bowl once most of the liquid is absorbed is the best way.

Divide the into 2 pieces. Dust your table and roll dough into a 1/4-inch-thick rectangle. Repeat with the other piece of dough. Cut out whatever sized circles from the 2 sheets of dough and put onto ungreased cookie sheets. You can only reroll the scraps of this dough once! You can put your own design in the top of your cookies at this stage! Refridgerate for 20 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees (I use the fan bake setting on my toaster oven because my oven isn’t working right!)

Bake the cookies for 20 minutes or until they are set and slightly darker around the edges. Cool completely on wire racks (or if you are impatient like me, pop them into the freezer for 5 minutes or so!).

Prepare the filling. Use a mixer to cream the butter and shortening until they are fluffy. Beat in the powdered sugar and vanilla.

Flip half of the cookies upside down and top each with filling. Press the remaining cookies on top to make sandwiches.

 

Leave a Reply

